c scott

Recently the Illinois State Board of Education announced its finalists for the 2022 Teacher of the Year as well as Those Who Excel awardees. This annual award has been sponsored by ISBE since 1970 to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to our state’s public schools.

Those Who Excel

The 2022 awardees, who will be recognized at an awards ceremony and banquet this summer, include Ms. Christy Scott, BSN-RN, the district school nurse overseeing Bunker Hill Community Unit School District #8. The lone recipient in Macoupin County, and in fact the entire Regional Office of Education #40 area including the counties of Calhoun-Greene-Jersey-Macoupin, Christy was nominated by the administrative team at Bunker Hill CUSD #8 for her exceptional work in the area of school health, both before and during the Covid-19 pandemic receiving the state’s Meritorious Service Award.

In addition to her tireless work ensuring Bunker Hill CUSD 8 remained open for in-person learning, Christy also was able to bring in school-based tele-healthcare to offer families the option of receiving virtual doctor visits through Hazel Health. “We are not only very proud of Christy, but our district truly is fortunate to have such a highly-qualified healthcare professional in our employ,” says Bunker Hill CUSD 8 Superintendent Todd Dugan. “Having a certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner is not only a huge asset to our families, but her understanding of public health requirements has enabled us to offer in-person learning these past two years. In fact, this year our district has not missed one day of in-person learning, and I’m not sure this could have happened without Christy’s help and expertise.” 

 For more information regarding this annual award, including criteria and other awardees, please visit https://www.isbe.net/thosewhoexcel